Polymers, Colloids & Interfaces, Short talk

Precision Synthesis of Various Low-Bandgap Donor-Acceptor Alternating Conjugated Polymers via Living Suzuki-Miyaura Catalyst-Transfer Polymerization

H. Kim1
1ETH Zurich, Department of Materials, Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10, 8093 Zurich

In this study, we present the living Suzuki-Miyaura catalyst-transfer polymerization (SCTP) using a RuPhos Pd G3 precatalyst as a versatile approach for the precision synthesis of several types of donor-acceptor alternating conjugated polymers (DA ACPs). Initially, we optimized the living SCTP process for biaryl monomers with varying electronic characters of both strong and medium electron-donating (D) and electron-accepting (A) groups. This optimization allowed us to obtain DA ACPs with controlled number-average molecular weight (Mn), narrow dispersity (Ð, 1.05-1.29), and high yields (>87%). Furthermore, we successfully expanded this method to the controlled polymerization (Mn = 9.2 - 40.0 kg mol−1) of a quateraryl monomer (A1-D-A2-D) containing diketopyrrolopyrrole (DPP; a strong acceptor). Additionally, the living SCTP technique facilitated the efficient one-step synthesis of various diblock and triblock copolymers. Lastly, the resulting DA ACPs exhibited adjustable optical band gaps (Egopt) ranging from 1.29 to 1.77 eV and varied highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) levels (from -5.57 to -4.75 eV), while their block copolymers displayed wide absorption spectra and demonstrated promising light-harvesting properties in the visible range.

[1] Alexander D. Todd, Christopher W. Bielawski, ACS Macro Lett. 2015, 4, 1254–1258.
[2] Einat Elmalem, Anton Kiriy, Wilhelm T. S. Huck, Macromolecules 2011, 44, 9057–9061.
[3] Sanne Govaerts, Pieter  Verstappen, Huguette  Penxten, Maxime Defour, Bruno Van Mele, Laurence Lutsen, Dirk Vanderzande, Wouter Maes, Macromolecules 2016, 49, 6411–6419.
[4] Yu Tokita, Masaru Katoh, Yoshihiro Ohta, Tsutomu Yokozawa, Chem. - A Eur. J. 2016, 22, 17436–17444.
[5] Volodymyr Senkovskyy, Roman Tkachov, Hartmut Komber, Michael Sommer, Maria Heuken, Brigitte Voit, Wilhelm T. S. Huck, Vladislav Kataev, Andreas Petr, Anton Kiriy, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133, 19966–19970.
[6] Wei Liu, Roman Tkachov, Hartmut Komber, Volodymyr Senkovskyy, Marcel Schubert, Zhanhua Wei, Antonio Facchetti, Dieter Neher, Anton Kiriy, Polym. Chem. 2014, 5, 3404–3411.
[7] Roman Tkachov, Hartmut Komber, Sebastian Rauch, Albena Lederer, Ulrich Oertel, Liane Haußler, Brigitte Voit, Anton Kiriy, Macromolecules 2014, 47, 4994–5001.
[8] Kyeong-Bae Seo, In-Hwan Lee, Jaeho Lee, Inho Choi, Tae-Lim Choi, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2018, 140, 4335–4343.
[9] Jaeho Lee, Hyunwoo Park, Soon-Hyeok Hwang, In-Hwan Lee, Tae-Lim Choi, Macromolecules 2020, 53, 3306–3314.
[10] Jaeho Lee, Hwangseok Kim, Hyunwoo Park, Taehyun Kim, Soon-Hyeok Hwang, Daye Seo, Taek Dong Chung, Tae-Lim Choi, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2021, 143, 11180–11190.